Asking for help.

Most of us, at some point in our lives, need to ask for some help and support.  By this, I don’t mean a little favour.  I mean helping to pick someone up when they are down and in desperate need.

I’ve said before, what I absolutely love about Twitter is the honesty of the majority of users.  I’d guess most Twitter users have never met most of their followers so there are no appearances to keep up, unlike on other social networking sites.  This honesty is totally refreshing and also allows for people who are in desperate need of help to communicate this to their twitter contacts without pride getting in the way.  And because of the sense of openness, we know that they are being true and are able to offer support and encouragement, albeit in a virtual sense.

I have been very frustrated recently to see that some of these people are hitting their heads off a brick wall in real life, despite being courageous enough to take the first step, and sometimes the second, third and fourth, towards asking for help.   I wonder whether we should try to look out in real life for those people, inevitably there will be some around us, who may just be keeping up appearances and may be in desperate need of a friendly ear or a hug.

Twitter has made me look anew at the people around me and wonder, if they had an anonymous twitter account and were asked “how are you?”, what would their honest answer be?

4 thoughts on “Asking for help.

  1. Very true, I like to keep my twitter account anonymous and do not follow anyone I know in real life, I also have protected tweets & wouldn’t accept a follow request from most people in my real world. Not because I have anything to hide, but because on twitter I don’t want to hide anything, I’m much more open & honest. Whereas on Facebook, I’m honest, but not open, often on Facebook I’ll say nothing rather than say what I really think of feel.
    I do think we all need to look closely at the people around us & check they are ok, really ok.

  2. Pingback: 13-02-12 Love New Blogs Weekly Showcase

  3. Pingback: Love All Blogs » the altruistic blogging network and showcasing site that welcomes all bloggers » 13-02-12 Love New Blogs Weekly Showcase

Leave a Reply

