The Ultimate Christmas Meme!

Spreading a bit of festive cheer, I have been tagged by Tas from NotMyYearOff to join in with this Christmas themed Meme created by Carolin from Mummy Alarm.

1. The Christmas song I can even listen to in June is…

When I was younger I remember going to Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve and nothing says Christmas more to me than the song O, Holy Night.  Back then it was the local cantor (Bertha), this song then reappeared at one of my best friend’s winter weddings and more recently, I discovered this version on Dermot O’Leary’s Choir of Angels radio 2 broadcast.  Love it.  It’s Lisa Hannigan, accompanied by Fyfe Dangerfield with Nerina Pallot (who I’ve seen live and also has a stunning voice) providing backing vocals.  Seriously worth a listen – click the link!

http://youtu.be/_U0WKDWBcoQ

2. Hot chocolate, egg nog or mulled wine?

Not much of a partaker of alcohol at the moment so it’d have to be hot chocolate.  I would have tried mulled wine for the first time ever this week but I booked my Christmas grocery shop to arrive between 8&10am so no alcohol allowed due to licensing laws.  Bummer!

3. When do you put your decorations up?

Well, in 2009 they didn’t go up as I had a newborn and I think I did well getting us all washed & dressed on Christmas day!  Last year they went up the weekend before christmas.  This year we’re waiting on new furniture being delivered tomorrow so the tree will either go up tomorrow night or when my husband finishes work for the holidays on Thursday.

4. What are you having for Christmas dinner?

Turkey breasts stuffed with haggis wrapped in parma ham!  Nom!

5. What’s your favourite Christmas tradition?

Starting a new one this year.  I think this time of year is a good time to reflect on what has been achieved over the past year and to think ahead to the New Year.  We are going to start a family Box of Wishes which will be opened around Christmas time to read last year’s and then we’ll have a week or so to think about what we look forward to next year and hope to achieve before writing these notes for the box to be sealed up at New Year.

6. Have you ever gone carole singing?

Yes!  I sang in the school choir and a particularly memorable event was singing carols at the local supermarket when the Coca Cola lorry visited.

7. When did you discover the truth about Santa?

I don’t remember!

8. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

Traditional colours – a green tree with red and gold decorations.

10. All I want for Christmas is…..

A happy family time.  And a nice, chunky, cosy jumper.  🙂

Happy Christmas everyone!

 

Now I tag –

@jowonderwoman

@cooda

@rantybeast

One thought on “The Ultimate Christmas Meme!

Leave a Reply

