Music as Therapy

Mammywoo’s “Music as Therapy” meme inspired me to start a blog so here is my attempt at joining in – enjoy!  And thank you Mammywoo http://misslexywoo.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/music-as-therapy/ for motivating me to listen to some of my CD collection, something I have really enjoyed.   (If anyone can talk me through making that link a bit prettier, by all means, please comment!)

 

I love music.  Listening or playing, even some teaching!  Music has an inate ability, like nothing else, to change moods and atmospheres. Growing up, my dad had an interesting taste in music.  I have inherited a love of Queen and Bruce Springsteen from my Dad.  I have chosen not to inherit a love of the Kyle of Lochalsh Scottish Dance Band cassette tape which he bought on a family holiday and inflicted on the family in his electric-blue Skoda on car journeys for around a year after. I like to think I’ve skimmed the cream off the top of his rather eclectic musical taste.

My mum has a typical girly but ‘strong woman’ taste in music.  Current favourites of her’s include Pink & Alison Krauss.  I remember singing along to Alison Moyet “Invisible!  Just like your love” (anyone?  No?)  from the lyrics printed on the sleeve of the LP.  (Do you know Alison Moyet’s actual first name is Genevieve? #facthard) Mum took me to my first ever concert – Wet, Wet, Wet’s Popped in Souled Out tour in 1990 when I was 7!!  I remember being at Glasgow Green and I remember walking back to my gran’s afterwards with my mum, her sister and my cousin.  It was a Sunday night and I was in school the next day with tales of my exciting late night and a Wet Wet Wet scarf as a souvenir.  Mum also took me to my most recent concert –Scissor Sisters.  That was interesting.  Brilliant, but I did not expect them to be quite so crude.  Very strange hearing your mother singing along to “Tits on the Radio”.

I think you can learn a lot from someone by listening to their music and their memories of music.  Here are the three that would be listed as amongst my favourites.  Unfortunately I don’t think I’m able to insert video without paying for an upgrade (newbie blogger – bear with me) so I’ve included the links instead.

China Girl – David Bowie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_8IXx4tsus&ob=av2e

This song is so powerful to me; it makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end.  I didn’t get into David Bowie until my late teens but I’m a huge fan.  There’s just something about his voice.  Anyway, lyrics follow, but really it’s the bass in the middle and the bar where the drumbeat changes which is absolute perfection to me:

Oh oh oh oh oh, little China Girl

Oh oh oh oh oh, little China Girl

I could escape this feeling with my China Girl.

I feel a wreck without my little china girl

I hear her heart beating loud as thunder

Saw the stars crashing

I’m a mess without my little China Girl

Wake up in the morning, where’s my little China Girl

I hear hearts beating, loud as thunder

I saw the stars crashing down

I’m feelin tragic like I’m Marlon Brando

When I look at my China Girl

I could pretend nothing really meant too much

When I look at my China Girl.

I stumble into town just like a sacred cow

Visions of swastikas in my head, plans for everyone

It’s in the whites of my eyes

My little China Girl, you shouldn’t mess with me

I’ll ruin everything you are

You know, I’ll give you television

I’ll give you eyes of blue

I’ll give you a man who wants to rule the world

And when I get excited my little China Girl says

Oh baby, just you shut your mouth

She says shhhh

She says shhhh

She says…

She says…

Adele– Make You Feel My Love

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0put0_a–Ng

Next song – a soppy memory, our first dance on our wedding day. We chose the Adele version although Bob Dylan did the original, or wrote it at least, and husband was fighting for the Ronan version.  (What can I say, I’m trying to educate him.  He’s a work in progress.  He has just told me that Earth Song was his favourite Michael Jackson song for years. Enough said).

This song strikes a chord with me.  Most love songs seem to profess the love you feel for someone.  This song is about making that person feel loved and what your love can do for them. What more could you wish for someone than that they feel loved?  I also love the Piano & strings arrangement.  Just stunning.

When the rain is blowing in your face and the whole world is on your case

I could offer you a warm embrace to make you feel my love.

When the evening shadows and the stars appear and there is no-one there to dry your tears

I could hold you for a million years to make you feel my love.

I know you haven’t made your mind up yet but I will never do you wrong.

I’ve known it from the moment that we met, no doubt in my mind where you belong.

I’d go hungry, I’d go black and blue.  I’d go crawling down the avenue.

No there’s nothing that I wouldn’t do, to make you feel my love.

The storms are raging on the rolling sea and on the highway of regret.

The winds of change are blowing wild and free – you ain’t seen nothing like me yet.

I could make you happy,make your dreams come true.  Nothing that I wouldn’t do.

Go to the ends of the earth for you, to make you feel my love.

Tracy Chapman – The Promise

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=crTc1V34m8g

Third song… had to be Tracy Chapman.  For those who don’t own any of her stuff, The Collection is a must have for any music shelf.  Beautiful, beautiful songs.  Struggled to choose between a few (All That You Have is Your Soul & Open Arms being other favourites) and on playing them tonight The Promise really struck me with a totally different meaning to the literal meaning which has always reached me previously.  I think we’re all guilty of neglecting our partners from time to time, life gets in the way.  Work, children, extended family, housework, friends, fitness… life.  I hope my husband knows that I long to be with him wherever he is and the thought of his touch, his kiss, his warm embrace is enough to make any dark days better. This song is a reminder to me.

Another point which just occurred to me is a recent discussion I had along the lines of whether or not you fall in love over and over again with your other half.  I guess this song could help you through the inevitable difficult stages in a relationship, remembering the better days.

Lyrics:

If you wait for me then I’ll come for you

Although I’ve travelled far, I always hold a place for you in my heart

If you think of me, if you miss me once in a while

Then I’ll return to you.  I’ll return and fill that space inyour heart.

Remembering your touch, your kiss, your warm embrace.

I’ll find my way back to you if you’ll be waiting.

If you dream of me like I dream of you

In a place that’s warm and dark, in a place where I can feel the beating of your heart

Remembering your touch, your kiss, your warm embrace

I’ll find my way back to you if you’ll be waiting.

Oh I’ve longed for you and I have desired to see your face, your smile

To be with you wherever you are

Remembering your touch, your kiss, your warm embrace

I’ll find my way back to you, please say you’ll be waiting.

Together again, it would feel so good to be

In your arms, where all my journeys end

If you can make a promise, if it’s one that you can keep

I vow to come for you if you’ll wait for me

And say you’ll hold a place for me, in your heart.

2 thoughts on “Music as Therapy

Leave a Reply

